Hong Kong & Macau 2008 港澳遊記 Day 2

August 31, 2008 at 6:58 pm | Posted in 心情筆記/Journal, 旅遊遊記/Travelogue | 2 Comments

Day 2 @ Hong Kong
Saturday morning, Chem & I went down for breakfast together. Chem asked if I preferred western or asian style, and I opted for western. In Taipei, you don’t usually get to have western breakfasts, especially since I rarely have time to dine out at breakfast. One of the things I miss most from BC is being able to go for brunch.

After breakfast, we walked down to the community bus station where I boarded the bus for the airport. I was to meet Kitty and the rest of the group at 10:30 at the airport lobby. I found the ride to the airport exciting and nerve-wrecking at the same time; I wasn’t afraid of getting lost exactly, but still worried that I’d miss my stop. I wanted to take photos of the scenary but at the same time tried to blend into the crowd. The flashing lights that showed the names of the bus stops didn’t come on until halfway into the ride. Meanwhile, I kept thinking, what if I’d already missed my stop. Here I was, excited to be on an adventure, yet at the same time, the little girl in me, very anxious and nervous.

I arrived at the airport, finally, with a sigh of relief. I hung around the lobby area where Chemmy had waited for me the night before. Besides me stood two men speaking in Mandarin (that caught my attention since most people in HK tend to speak Catonese). I later found out those two were Kitty’s cousins. And to think of all the people in the airport lobby, we were waiting for the same group.

From the airport, Kitty and I sat in the front seat of the mini van as one of the cousin’s drove. I later found out they lived about an hour from the airport. The view was spectacular~ Being the tourist, I pulled out my camera and took photos.

I even took a few photos of scenary from while we were driving along the longest bridge in Hong Kong.

香港最長的一座橋 好像叫青馬大橋Taken while traveling on the longest bridge in HK.

香港最長的一座橋 好像叫青馬大橋Taken while traveling on the longest bridge in HK.

A little island that could be seen from the bridge.  According to Chem, this island has residents.  And in prevention of pollution, no cars are allowed on the island.  So if you live there and want to drive, you probably drive a golf cart.  How cute the thought~

A little island that could be seen from the bridge. According to Chem, this island has residents. And in prevention of pollution, no cars are allowed on the island. So if you live there and want to drive, you probably drive a golf cart. How cute the thought~

Amongst my favorites are the different buildings. They come in different color themes and all look so tall and slender. The layout is quite different from what I’m used to~

Beautiful view of buildings along the route.

Beautiful view of buildings along the route.

More nice looking buildings

More nice looking buildings

Pandas must be in.  Look at the color theme of the buildings

Pandas must be in. Look at the color theme of the buildings

Another cheerful looking building.  I think, by this point of the ride, I had found my theme for photo-taking~

Another cheerful looking building. I think, by this point of the ride, I had found my theme for photo-taking~

When we finally arrived at our destination, the cousins treated us to a dim sum feast. Absolutely delicious~ And overwhelming since they ordered way too much!

貓咪的表哥招待我們的豐盛的午餐~ Our overwhelming dim sum lunch.  And this is only part of it

貓咪的表哥招待我們的豐盛的午餐~ Our overwhelming dim sum lunch. And this is only part of it

Then we walked over to check out one of the cousin’s place. And later to another cousin’s place. We spent most of the afternoon visiting with relatives checking out their apartments. I find that the housing in HK are similiar in a way. All the buildings are tall and slender. The apartments are small but cozy. The bedrooms are small, but all have windows. Unlike in Taipei, sometimes you’d have a room with no windows at all. Or, even there is a window, outside would be blocked. The buildings tend to have a mall or shopping area on the bottom floors or at least very close by, very convenient~

居高臨下...的相反      這是貓咪的親戚家住的大樓  附近每一棟顏色都不同喔      Doesn't the building look so tall?  Some of Kitty's relatives live here, and I took the photo just before we entered the building.

居高臨下...的相反 這是貓咪的親戚家住的大樓 附近每一棟顏色都不同喔 Doesn

Afterwards, we did some shopping in a near by mall. Then we had dinner in a fancy restaurant located in the mall as well. Another fabulous, overwhelming meal~ We were all so hungry from our long walks from relatives’ to relatives’ so the food went down far quicker than photos could be taken~

After all the excitement of the day, it was nice to wind down with a hot shower and some TV entertainment. So ends my Day 2 in HK.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. 時間真的過得很快 轉眼間到溫哥華都要十二年了
    十二年前我們全家一起到香港面談時 妹妹因為嚴重的生病 令我們無緣逛遊香港 當時只是覺得香港 真是 人多 車多 房子多 小船也多
    經由你這次重遊香港的介紹 讓我們也可以再次遊覽香港 謝謝你 那座橋真的很美 點心也好大 好美 看得讓人真是垂涎欲滴呢

  2. 對阿 時間過得好快喔~
    轉眼妹妹也長大了

    對於前一次的香港trip 說真的 我沒什麼印象
    只記得我們哪裡都沒去 幾乎都在飯店附近

    這一次 我有去到海洋公園喔~


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

